Punch on the Patio

I’ve gotten myself into something of a pickle – all in the name of a desire to relax outdoors, in comfort. I have a modest patio in my back yard that sports a large table and chairs. Which, while perfect for summer dinner parties, is less so for relaxing while perusing the morning paper or reading a good book. So I decided that I needed a small sectional of some sort that I could tuck back in a corner for that very purpose. But when the one I had my heart set on sold out before I had a chance to purchase it, I went another way. Convinced I could somehow make it work, I instead bought a loveseat. And two chairs. And a coffee table. And two giant planters. And an ottoman. Oh… and a full-size sofa as well. What was obvious to everyone (except, of course, me) was the fact that the laws of physics would preclude the lovely furnishings from co-habitating with my dining table on the already quite full patio. Some might chalk this up to having a well-intentioned hair-brained scheme that went array, and return said goods. Smart people would do that. I did not. Instead, I determined the only reasonable course of action was to keep shopping, and extend the patio. I have dug up all the landscaping around the perimeter and replaced it with more diminutive greenery. I have searched the better part of the state to find similar 18″ patio pavers (So far, I have found 8. Yes, only 8.), and began the laborious process of installing them. (In this case, the actual installer of said pavers is one very supportive husband who has managed to keep his deep sighs and eye rolling to a minimum – even on Saturday night, as we toiled on this totally ill-conceived plan out in the cold rain until well past dark. Remind me to buy him a pony or something.) In my head, this is just a snag that will somehow be sorted. Which frees me up to continue shopping for accents that will really pull the place together, should we ever find enough pavers (and time, and energy) to actually complete the project. So today I thought I’d introduce you to my latest obsession: the garden stool. I thought I’d buy a couple to add a fun pop of color and texture to my vision of comfort and joy… and to keep the rest of the furniture company as it sits in the garage. Waiting.

Emissary Home & Garden - Orange Garden Stool, $385
Emissary Home & Garden – Orange Garden Stool, $385
Joss & Main - Nassau Garden Stool, $103
Joss & Main – Nassau Garden Stool, $103
Emissary - Lotus Garden Stools, $545
Emissary – Lotus Garden Stools, $545
World Market - Green Striped Landon Garden Stool, $79.99
World Market – Green Striped Landon Garden Stool, $79.99
World Market - Pagoda Blue Lucas Wrapped Garden Stool, $59.99
World Market – Pagoda Blue Lucas Wrapped Garden Stool, $59.99
Inside Avenue - Jewel Garden Stool, $288
Inside Avenue – Jewel Garden Stool, $288
Urban Trends - Red Open Work Garden Stool, $170
Urban Trends – Red Open Work Garden Stool, $170
Safavieh - Paradise blue garden stool, $122
Safavieh – Paradise blue garden stool, $122
Bliss Home - Silver Garden Stool, $550
Bliss Home – Silver Garden Stool, $550
Emissary - Two Tone Green Garden Stool, $455
Emissary – Two Tone Green Garden Stool, $455
InSide Avenue - Twist White Garden Stool, $270
InSide Avenue – Twist White Garden Stool, $270
Fab - Bongo Orange Side Table, $95
Fab – Bongo Orange Side Table, $95
A&B Home - Green Garden Stool, $89.99
A&B Home – Green Garden Stool, $89.99
Blue Geo Garden Stool, $75
Blue Geo Garden Stool, $75

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

