Tags

, , ,

St.-Patricks-Day-Shamrock-Small

We’re taking a slightly atypical course for today’s track. See, St. Patrick’s Day is not only a celebration of the Blessed Irish saint, but it is also my mom’s birthday. So we usually celebrate with a backdrop of Irish tunes, including one of her favorites, Danny Boy. But… well… it actually seems like quite a downer, doesn’t it?

“And I shall hear, though soft, your tread above me
And all my grave shall warmer, sweeter be
For you will bend and tell me that you love me
And I will sleep in peace until you come to me.”

I don’t even think you need to hear the lyrics to get the gist that something depressing is in play. Certainly not festive and birthday appropriate, right? So I spent the better part of last weekend searching for an acceptable alternative rendition. Of course, I was hoping for an upbeat electronica remix we could dance to, but – alas – that does not seem to exist. However, I did find a charming piece that I really like. It’s a dixieland-jazzy number reminiscent of a Woody Allen film, that takes the teary edge off while maintaining an appropriate level of integrity. Hope you like it, mom. xoxo

Eddie Condon_box_cover