Today’s Track – Wasn’t That A Pity and a Shame?, Aaron Robinson

Some years ago, I attended the Penumbra Theater Company’s rendition of Langston Hughes’ Black Nativity at the Fitzgerald in St. Paul. It was literally the most rousing holiday feast-for-the-ears I had ever experienced. So enraptured was I by the magnificent gospel that I taped (yes, taped: the funny little cassette things from days of yore) the performance off the radio, thus creating my most treasured holiday music collection. Unfortunately, that cast recording is no where to be had; meaning that I have to settle for playing my bootlegged reel-to-reel (yes, I keep the cassette player hooked up to the stereo for just that very purpose), and you’ll have to settle for a different rendition. The one I’m sharing today was brought it to life at the Immanuel Baptist Church in Portland, Maine and is pretty darn good; but less jubilant than the MN cast delivered back in the day. Wasn’t That A Pity and a Shame? from the album Black Nativity – In Concert: A Gospel Celebration, 2004.

One thought on “Today’s Track – Wasn’t That A Pity and a Shame?, Aaron Robinson

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

